Blog

Last Call for DOVO Scissors and Registration is Open for Embroidery of Madeira Lecture

Hello Everyone,
December is here and I hope you are all enjoying the Holiday Season.  As I write this, only 18 days until Christmas!  I am starting on my Christmas baking tomorrow, mmmmm!

A month or so ago, I wrote a bit about DOVO, and I want to give you an update.  I don’t want to be the bearer of bad news, but they have been sold, which is better than being closed down.  Unfortunately, the new owners are only going to keep the razor line in production.  If things go well, in the future, they may bring back some of the manicure line, but at this point I have been told that the sewing / household scissors are retired.
I am soo sad to see them go.  I love my DOVO scissors.  They fit well in my hand, and are light and easy to use.  Their quality lies in the way they are manufactured, a pair at a time and hand balanced.  I will miss looking for a new style to add to my collection!  My last shipment has arrived.  The only styles that came in were the 7″ satin shears, the 4″ 2 nub scissors, and the 5″ shears with the gold handles, even though I ordered all of my standard scissors.  There are still a few pair of some of the other styles that I normally carry on my website.  I have updated all of the inventory.  You can click here to see what I still have in stock:

DOVO Scissors and Shears

If you do not see them, then they are all sold out.  I will truly miss them.  My DOVO contact was wonderful!  She stopped by on one of her last trips to the US from Germany and we had a nice visit.  I had to laugh – her sister had given her a list of things to get for her from Joanns.  I loaded her up with coupons before she left!

 

Registration for The Embroidery of Madeira Lecture is now open!

 

The Lecture is on Sunday, January 3, 12pm Pacific, 1pm Mountain, 2pm Central, and 3pm Eastern.  Pull up a chair, grab a beverage of your choice, and join me as I share the Embroidery of Madeira.  I will send out a zoom link on January 1.  The Lecture is $15, and you can register HERE

I am off to make burp cloths.  Not glamorous, but lifesavers for new moms! I make them big, so they are actually useful.  The ones that my daughter received were a skimpy 7 inches wide and 12 inches long.  If you are holding a baby over your shoulder, that is no protection at all!   I will have a tutorial next week on these.

In the meantime, stay safe and healthy, enjoy the Holiday Season, and

Happy Stitching,

Vaune

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *